John Hinnen receives RTNDA Award

Sports Media Canada Board of Directors member John Hinnen, the 680News Vice President and General Manager, has been named winner of the prestigious RTNDA President’s Award.

John Hinnen

John Hinnen first made his mark in Canadian broadcasting as an energetic and diligent radio sportscaster in Toronto.  His volunteer participation in the work of Sports Media Canada on behalf of professional sports journalists and the profession itself reflects the seriousness which marked his dedication to broadcasting and journalism in those early years — which persists to this day — recognized in this Award.

RTNDA Canada is the voice of electronic journalists and news managers in Canada.

Its President’s Award is the highest honour handed out annually to recognize those who have made major contributions to broadcast journalism.

John Hinnen is an accomplished news executive with a radio news career that spans nearly four decades with Rogers. He first started out as a sportscaster in 1974, and only a few years later was appointed news director of CFTR. By 1987 he was appointed VP of News at CHFI, and is considered the architect of 680News which went on the air in 1993. He has also oversees Rogers All News stations in Vancouver, Calgary and Ottawa as well as the News/Talk stations in Kitchener, Saint John, Moncton and Halifax.

John Hinnen has contributed to broadcast journalism in many ways. As a long-time member of RTNDA Canada, he has served as President of both the Association and the Foundation. He currently serves as Vice-President of the Ontario Association of Broadcasters.

Hinnen said he is humbled to receive this award. He added, “This award is recognition of the amazing people I’ve had a chance to work with over the years from Ted Rogers who had the vision for 680News to the amazing team of journalists we work with daily.”

The award will be presented at the President’s Award Gala during the RTNDA National Conference in Halifax in June.

Previous winners include distinguished Canadian broadcasters Pamela Wallin, Peter Mansbridge and Lloyd Robertson.