Sports Media Canada Announces 2017 Award Recipients

Toronto, September 18, 2017 –Sports Media Canada is pleased to announce its list of honourees for 2017.
The awards will be presented at the 22nd annual SMC Achievement Awards luncheon to be held at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel’s Imperial Room on Wednesday, November 8.

The recipients to be honoured are:
STEVE ARMITAGE (CBC-TV Sports): Career Achievement
BOB HANLEY (The Hamilton Spectator): Posthumous Honour Roll ARASH MADANI (Sportsnet): Broadcasting
RICK WESTHEAD (TSN): Sportswriting
BERNARD BRAULT (La Presse Plus): Photography
TIM BEZBATCHENKO (GM, TFC): Sports Executive of the Year JIM GREGORY (Long-serving NHL executive): President’s Award

Tickets for the event (11:00 a.m. Reception, Noon Luncheon) are $100 each. Contact Dick Bradbeer at for ticket details.