Robertson, Popp, Van Horne and Doucet to be Honoured

Toronto, September 14, 2011: Sports Media Canada will add the names of Lloyd RobertsonJim PoppDave Van Horne and Jacques Doucet to its Honour Roll at its annual awards luncheon on October 3, 2011 at the Royal York Hotel in Toronto.

Lloyd Robertson, as he steps back from his nightly newscasts for CTV, is the longest-serving network news anchor in television history.

Robertson is being recognized for his contribution to sports media with the President’s Award. Long before he took his place behind CTV’s news desk, Robertson was the face of CBC TV’s live coverage of the Olympic Games and numerous other major sporting events.

Jim Popp is the vice-president, general manager and Director of Football Operations and Player Personnel of the Montreal Alouettes. Popp’s perennial winning performances as GM of the Alouettes have earned him the Sports Media Canada George Gross Award as Executive of the Year. The Alouettes have been in eight Grey Cup Championships during Popp’s tenure capturing the title three times (2002, 2009 and 2010).

Dave Van Horne and Jacques Doucet, two outstanding baseball broadcasters are to receive Career Achievement awards.

Van Horne, a recent inductee into baseball’s Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, N.Y. spent 32-years as the English voice of the Montreal Expos. The Expos are no more but Van Horne continues to call baseball. Living in South Florida, he describes the exploits of the Florida Marlins.

Jacques Doucet began covering the Expos for the Montreal French daily, La Presse. After being asked to join the Expos’ radio crew as a fill-in, it was only a matter of time before he was doing it full time. Today, Doucet continues to call baseball in French for the Quebec Capitales of the Can Am League.

Matt Devlin, Toronto Raptors TV play-by-play broadcaster, will emcee this year’s event.

Tickets for the October 3rd luncheon are available by contacting Dick Bradbeer at 905-823-3294 or

For Media Information Contact:

Fred Walker

cell: 416-526-1565