All-Star Lineup For 2013 SMC Awards

Sports Media Canada is pleased to announce the names of the 2013 recipients of its annual George Gross Awards which will be presented at the Awards Presentation Luncheon on Monday, October 21, at the Royal York Hotel in Toronto.

2012 Achievement Awards Luncheon

This year’s high profile list includes:
Career Achievement: Bob McCown, Sportsnet 590 The FAN
Outstanding Broadcasting: Joe Bowen, Toronto Maple Leafs
Outstanding Sportswriting: Steve Simmons, Sun Media
Outstanding Photography: Mike Cassese, Reuters (posthumous)
Sports Executive of the Year: Cam Russell, Halifax Mooseheads
Honour Roll (Posthumous): Alec Bollini, Tom McKee, Frank Selke Jr.
President’s Award: Dick Grimm, RCGA

This year marks the 18th Sports Media Canada Achievement Awards recognizing outstanding contributions to Canadian sports journalism.
Tickets for the October 21st luncheon are available by contacting Dick Bradbeer at