SMC Honourees For 2014

Toronto, September 4, 2014 – Sports Media Canada is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014 George Gross Awards and the 2014 President’s Award. The honours will be handed out at the 19th Annual Sports Media Canada Achievement Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, November 5, 2014 at the Royal York Hotel in Toronto.

Broadcasting Award Recipient Scott Russell

The Sports Media Canada Class of 2014 is:
Outstanding Broadcasting – Scott Russell, CBC TV
Outstanding Sportswriting – Donna Spencer, The Canadian Press
Outstanding Photography – Jonathan Hayward, The Canadian Press
Career Achievement – Fred Walker, CBC Radio
Honour Roll (Posthumous) – Len Bramson (Sports Radio Pioneer)
Ward Cornell (Hockey Night in Canada)
John Robertson (Reporter/Columnist)
Sports Executive of the Year – Anne Merklinger, CEO, Own The Podium
President’s Award – Rogers Communications (Sportsnet)

Tickets for the November 5th event (11:00 a.m. Reception, Noon Luncheon) are available by contacting Dick Bradbeer at

Contact: John Iaboni (